New Adventure

Brand loyalty to Lonely Planet on display.

Gotta love Lonely Planet.

It’s really happening. After six months of saying we’re going on a big trip but putting off the date forever (mostly my fault, due to my tennis mania), we are actually getting on a plane tomorrow morning!

Southeast Asia here we come! Bags are packed. Mochi’s moved back in with my parents. Open ended ticket. Doesn’t get better than that. But first, a laundry list of the countries and cities we plan to hit (and whose highlights you’ll see in this blog):

Thailand (Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Pai, Krabi)

Myanmar (Yangon, Bagan, Inle Lake)

Malaysia (Penang)

Singapore

Indonesia (Bali)

Obviously, missing from the above list of SE Asia’s greatest hits is Cambodia and Angkor Wat, Vietnam and Hanoi, and Laos for sheer serenity. They could still make the list. It just really depends on how travel fatigued we are. I’ve done the hop-hop-hop travel from place to place every few days in an attempt to see everything. We did it last summer when we spent 10 or 12 weeks on the road (Honolulu-Paris-San Sebastian-New York-Florida-Caribbean Family Reunion Cruise-Texas-Honolulu), never longer than 10 days in the same place. It was fun, but it makes me tired just to think about it.

So this time around, I forced myself to narrow things down and have some focus. I’ll get into the details of how I came up with my list of five countries later, but suffice to say that there’s a real desire on my part to get to know the region a little deeper than your usual tourist. More to come. Let’s just get this first post up and see how the page looks.

The blog is a new one, a work in progress. Ironically, despite 10+ years in journalism, I’ve never kept my own blog (didn’t feel like writing at home when I did it all day already), and I’m a newbie with WordPress. So bear with me if you will, and forgive all the white space. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

